Tag Archive: free concert

  1. Organ Recital Series *AT ST JOHN’S CHURCH, NEWCASTLE*

    Comments Off on Organ Recital Series *AT ST JOHN’S CHURCH, NEWCASTLE*

    Why not take a break and spend your Monday lunchtime listening to beautiful music in tranquil surroundings?

    Our free organ recitals take place on Mondays throughout the year, starting at 1:05pm, and last approximately 45 minutes.

    Admission is free to all; there is a retiring collection following the recital to help defray costs. Suggested donation £5.

    Organ Recital Series_April 2019

    For details of future recitals, please see below:

    Monday 1 April 2019
    Kris Thomsett (Newcastle Cathedral)

    Monday 8 April 2019
    David Hamilton (University of Strathclyde)

    Monday 15 April 2019
    Magnus Williamson (Newcastle University)

    Bank Holiday Monday 22 April 2019
    Christopher Herrick (World Famous Recitalist and Concert Organist)

    Monday 29 April 2019
    John Goodenough (St Alban’s, Windy Nook, Gateshead)

    Bank Holiday Monday 6 May 2019
    Daniel Cook (Durham Cathedral)

    Monday 13 May 2019
    John Green and Michael Haynes (Hexham Abbey)

    *Monday 20 May*
    *AT ST JOHN’S CHURCH, NEWCASTLE*
    Ian Roberts (Newcastle Cathedral)

    Bank Holiday Monday 27 May 2019
    Peter Stevens (Westminster Cathedral)

    Monday 3 June 2019
    John Cooper Green (St John’s, Keswick)

    Monday 10 June 2019
    William Fox (St Paul’s Cathedral)

    Monday 17 June 2019
    Kris Thomsett (Newcastle Cathedral)

    Monday 24 June 2019
    Laurence Caldecote (All Saints’, Northampton)

    Monday 1 July 2019
    Michael Haynes (Hexham Abbey)

    Monday 15 July 2019
    Ian Roberts (Newcastle Cathedral)

    Monday 29 July 2019
    Friedhelm Flamme (Hochschule für Musik, Detmold, Germany)

     

    More dates and information will be added as it becomes available.

  2. Organ Recital Series

    Comments Off on Organ Recital Series

    Why not take a break and spend your Monday lunchtime listening to beautiful music in tranquil surroundings?

    All are welcome to come to the Cathedral to enjoy our free organ recitals which take place on Mondays throughout the year, starting at 1:05pm, and last approximately 45 minutes.

    Featuring the organs of the Cathedral, the recital will be performed by a visiting performer, or one of Newcastle Cathedral’s ‘home team’.

    From time to time we welcome national or international organ playing celebrities. The majority of the recitals are performed by organ soloists, but we also have an occasional series called ‘Organ and Friends’ which features an instrumental or vocal soloist performing alongside the organ.

    Our lunchtime organ recitals are free for all at the point of entry, but we suggest a donation of £5, or whatever an individual can afford, in the retiring collection following the recital to help defray costs.

    Details of forthcoming recitals are available below or check details on our website: http://stnicholascathedral.co.uk/worship-and-music/organ-recital-series/. You can also find information about our recitals, as well as organ recitals across the country and further afield on www.organrecitals.com

    For more information please contact Kris Thomsett via email: kris.thomsett@stnicholascathedral.co.uk

    For details of future recitals, please see below:

    Monday 1 April 2019
    Kris Thomsett (Newcastle Cathedral)

    Monday 8 April 2019
    David Hamilton (University of Strathclyde)

    Monday 15 April 2019
    Magnus Williamson (Newcastle University)

    Bank Holiday Monday 22 April 2019
    Christopher Herrick (World Famous Recitalist and Concert Organist)

    Monday 29 April 2019
    John Goodenough (St Alban’s, Windy Nook, Gateshead)

    Bank Holiday Monday 6 May 2019
    Daniel Cook (Durham Cathedral)

    Monday 13 May 2019
    John Green and Michael Haynes (Hexham Abbey)

    *Monday 20 May*
    *AT ST JOHN’S CHURCH, NEWCASTLE*
    Ian Roberts (Newcastle Cathedral)

    Bank Holiday Monday 27 May 2019
    Peter Stevens (Westminster Cathedral)

    Monday 3 June 2019
    John Cooper Green (St John’s, Keswick)

    Monday 10 June 2019
    William Fox (St Paul’s Cathedral)

    Monday 17 June 2019
    Kris Thomsett (Newcastle Cathedral)

    Monday 24 June 2019
    Laurence Caldecote (All Saints’, Northampton)

    Monday 1 July 2019
    Michael Haynes (Hexham Abbey)

    Monday 15 July 2019
    Ian Roberts (Newcastle Cathedral)

    Monday 29 July 2019
    Friedhelm Flamme (Hochschule für Musik, Detmold, Germany)

    Monday 5 August 2019
    Charles Wooler (Newcastle-upon-Tyne)

    Monday 12 August 2019
    Kieran Fitzsimons (Newcastle)

    Monday 19 August 2019
    Kris Thomsett (Newcastle Cathedral)

    Monday 2 September 2019
    John Wyatt (Ely)

    Monday 9 September 2019
    Andrew Cantrill-Fenwick (Wearhead)

    Monday 16 September 2019
    Ian Roberts (Newcastle Cathedral)

    Monday 23 September 2019
    William Nicholson (Westminster Abbey)

    Monday 30 September 2019
    Alexander Berry (Bradford Cathedral)

    Monday 7 October 2019
    Jonathan Allsopp (Southwell Minster)

    Monday 14 October 2019
    Geoffrey Woollatt (Manchester Cathedral)

    Monday 21 October 2019
    Kris Thomsett (Newcastle Cathedral)

    Monday 28 October 2019
    Oliver Morrell (Durham Cathedral)

    Monday 4 November 2019
    Tim Hone (All Saints’, Pavement, York)

    Monday 11 November 2019
    Ian Roberts (Newcastle Cathedral)

    Monday 18 November 2019
    Edward Taylor (Carlisle Cathedral)

    Monday 25 November 2019
    Alison Rudd (Alnmouth Parish Church)

    Monday 2 December 2019
    Michael Haynes (Hexham Abbey)

    Monday 23 December 2019
    Kris Thomsett (Newcastle Cathedral)

    Monday 30 December 2019
    Charles Wooler (Newcastle-upon-Tyne)

    More dates and information will be added as it becomes available.

  3. Organ Recital Series

    Comments Off on Organ Recital Series

    Why not take a break and spend your Monday lunchtime listening to beautiful music in tranquil surroundings?

     

    Our free organ recitals take place on Mondays, starting at 1.05pm, and last approximately 45 minutes.

     

    Lunchtime recitals throughout January 2018 feature the following guests:

    • 1st January: Charles Wooler- Newcastle
    • 8th January: Simon Russell- Nantwich Parish Church
    • 15th January: William Peart- Birmingham Conservatoire
    • 22nd January: Jason Lowe- Durham Cathedral
    • 29th January: Ian Roberts- Newcastle Cathedral